DNS Hosting

Table of Contents


DNSimple provides robust DNS hosting using a global Anycast network.

Using DNSimple as DNS hosting provider

If you want to use DNSimple to manage the DNS of an existing domain, you have two options:

  1. Keep the domain registration at your current registrar and just transfer the DNS management to us.

    If you simply want to use DNSimple to host your DNS for a domain, then follow these instructions to point your domain to our name servers.

  2. Transfer the domain registration and DNS management to us.

    If you want DNSimple to act as your domain registrar, then follow these instructions to transfer your domain to DNSimple.

If you don’t have a domain yet, you can register a domain with us and subscribe to a DNS hosting plan to manage the domain with us.

In order to use our DNS hosting service the account must be subscribed to a valid plan. Each plan provides different level of services and comes with a number of DNS zones (domains) included in the subscription fee. You can selectively enable/disable the DNS hosting service for a single domain, depending on whether you need to use our DNS hosting feature or not.

Adding the domain

In order to use our DNS hosting services you first need to add the domain to a DNSimple account. Depending on whether you also want to use DNSimple as registrar, you may need to register or transfer the domain to us.

Configuring the domain records

You manage your domain DNS records (also called DNS zone) using the DNS record editor. From the record editor you can create, delete and update the DNS records that represent the DNS zone of your domain.

Enabling/disabling the DNS hosting for a domain

This section describes a feature that is only available to the new plans.

You can enable/disable the DNS hosting service for a previously disabled domain from the domain DNS tab.

To enable the DNS hosting
  1. Log into DNSimple with your user credentials.
  2. Click on your avatar on the top-right, and on the drop-down menu select the account.
  3. On the top-nav menu click the tab, locate the relevant domain and click on the name to access the domain page.
  4. Switch to the tab.

    Domain DNS tab link

  5. Find the card and follow the instructions to Enable the DNS hosting.

    Enable DNS hosting

Each new domain added to an account has DNS hosting enabled by default, regardless if you register/transfer the domain or you simply add it.

To disable the DNS hosting
  1. Log into DNSimple with your user credentials.
  2. Click on your avatar on the top-right, and on the drop-down menu select the account.
  3. On the top-nav menu click the tab, locate the relevant domain and click on the name to access the domain page.
  4. Switch to the tab.

    Domain DNS tab link

  5. Find the card and follow the instructions to Disable the DNS hosting.

    Disable DNS hosting

If a domain is delegated to our name servers, then disabling the DNS hosting for a domain will cause the domain to immediately stop resolving, regardless of whether the domain is registered or just hosted with us.

If the domain is registered with us but delegated to another DNS provider, disabling the DNS hosting will not change the delegation. The domain will continue to resolve with the other DNS provider.

Use cases

There are a few cases where you may want to turn the DNS hosting off for a domain:

  • You added the domain just to purchase an SSL certificate, but the domain is not delegated to us and it is not resolving with DNSimple
  • You wanted to register a domain with us, but you will be using a different DNS hosting provider
  • You wanted to register a domain with us, but you are not actively using the domain (e.g the domain is just reserved for future use or parked)

When you disable a domain, the domain will not longer count against the number of active zones in your subscription fee. Therefore, if you have 20 domains in your account but only 15 have the DNS hosting feature enabled, we will only bill you for 15 domains.

You can check the number of domains with active DNS hosting at any time in the account page.