Supported DNS Record Types

Table of Contents

The Domain Name System (DNS) is composed of several record types called resource records. DNSimple supports most common and traditional record types, as well some newer types introduced to provide innovative services like DNS Certification Authority Authorization.

Supported Records

We support the following standard record types:

We also created 3 proprietary record types:

We support additional record types used behind the scenes to provide various DNS features:


CAA records are only supported on the DNSimple name servers. We don’t support transferring CAA records to secondary name servers.